Vessels

Wisconsin dirt as well as the silt clay of Turtle Creek basin, which bordered our farm, enter my memory as I form lumps of porcelain into objects that I hope to share.  These memories connect to my experience in farming, and my daily labors with materials. My art practice involves investigations of studio problems and solutions using eyes, hands and mind in response to the natural world.

Through time and experience my appreciation for porcelain grows.  This white clay is a malleable, versatile, and complex material.  Throwing porcelain on the wheel is challenging rewarding and a pleasure.  The vessels presented suggest metaphoric associations to the human condition, invite contemplation and reference utilitarian function.

Bowl1

Bowl2

Vessel1Vessel2Vessel6Vessel 5Vessel7Vessel3Vessel9Vessel11Vessels10

Leave a Reply

